samknovels

Cut! Cut! Cut!

 

Cut blurbs down to size.

“Blurbs!” I scream, as I tear my hair out. Yes, blurbs do that to me and I’m pretty sure everybody else.

You’ve spent hours, days, weeks – centuries, writing your masterpiece. You’ve edited, refined, rehashed, reorganized, and rearranged the furniture in your fictional world until every word, phrase and paragraph is perfect, then you sit back and breath a sigh. You’re finished – finally! But not so fast my friend, you still have to write – THE BLURB!

THE BLURB! It’s alive! It raises up from the primordial depths to haunt you, or more likely drive you crazy.

I wish I had words of wisdom to pass onto you, but I don’t. I haven’t found the magic formula myself. I do know one thing: you have to cut! If your blurb is five paragraphs cut the sucker back. Even four or three paragraphs – cut ’em back. Make your blurb as short and enticing as possible. You want to peek the reader’s curiosity. You want to open that little velvet box just enough to let them see something sparkle. What was it? A ring? An engagement ring? Was it a ring, or was it something else? Well dear reader, you’re gonna have to buy the box to find out.

So there you have it, my words of wisdom in a kanut shell (if auto correct corrects ‘kanut’ one more time, I swear I’ll…) Okay, godda get back to my overly-worded blurbs. If I find a magic formula – crossing fingers that I do – I’ll past it onto you.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2016 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

